The ICRS is the leading global conference on coral reef science, management and conservation, granted every 4 years by the International Coral Reef Society (ICRS).

The ICRS regularly brings together more than 2,500 of the world's leading coral reef scientists, early career researchers, conservationists, policy makers and reef managers to present the latest research findings and exchange current knowledge fundamental in advising international and national policies in the conservation and sustainable use of coral reefs. 

The 14th ICRS 2021 will be the first virtual symposium in the more than 50-years history of the ICRS. We hope to gain important and new experiences also for following ICRS. It is also the first time that an ICRS is organized by an European institution. The University of Bremen is proud to be the organizer of this 14th ICRS 2021 VIRTUAL plus the host for the following 15th ICRS 2022 IN-PERSON in Bremen. The University of Bremen cordially invites the global coral reef community to participate in both events.

ICRS 2021 VIRTUAL and ICRS 2022 IN-PERSON Committees

The local organising committee consists of members of the Marine Ecology Department at the University of Bremen and the Bremen Convention Bureau. It is supported by an organising committee that includes leading national and international experts in coral reef science. The administration of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen and the International Coral Reef Society support the 14th ICRS 2021 VIRTUAL and the 15th ICRS 2022 IN-PERSON in many aspects.

Local Organising Committee:

Prof. Dr. Christian Wild (University of Bremen) - Conference Chairman
Andrea Hess (Bremen Convention Bureau)
Dr. Simon Jungblut (University of Bremen)
Inae Kim-Frommherz (University of Bremen)
Heinz Krimmer (University of Bremen)
Davina Pick (Bremen Convention Bureau)

Organising Committee:

Prof. Dr. Kai Bischof (University of Bremen)
Dr. Arjun Chennu (MPI and ZMT Bremen)
Dr. Maha Cziesielski (ICRS Reef Students)
Dr. Thomas Felis (MARUM, Bremen)
Dr. Sebastian Ferse (University of Bremen)
Dr. Jasper de Goeij (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Andrea Grottoli (The Ohio State University, USA)
Dr. Andreas Haas (NIOZ Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Tilmann Harder (University of Bremen)
Dr. Georg Heiss (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
Dr. Carin Jantzen (SECORE International, Bremen)
Dr. Joanie Kleypas (National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA)
Prof. Dr. Agostino Merico (Jacobs University and ZMT, Bremen)
Meike Mossig (University of Bremen)
Prof. Dr. Ronald Osinga (University of Wageningen, Netherlands)
Dr. Götz Reinicke (German Oceanographic Museum Foundation)
Dr. Willem Renema (Naturalis, Leiden, Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Claudio Richter (AWI, Bermerhaven, and University of Bremen)
Helen Schneider-Lemay (The Schneider Group, Inc., SGmeet, USA)
Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
Prof. Dr. Christian Voolstra (University of Konstanz, Germany)
Prof. Dr. Christian Wild (University of Bremen)
Dr. Alexander Wolf (BORDA, Bremen Overseas Research and Development Association)
Prof. Dr. Gert Wörheide (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
Dr. Rita Kellner‐Stoll (Kellner & Stoll Foundation, Bremen)