About ICRS 2021

In early July 2021, the 14th International Coral Reef Symposium (ICRS 2021) will take place at the Exhibition and Conference Center in Bremen (Germany). The ICRS is the leading global conference on coral reef science, management and conservation, sanctioned every 4 years by the International Coral Reef Society (ICRS).

The ICRS regularly brings together more than 2,500 of the world's leading coral reef scientists, early career researchers, conservationists, policy makers and reef managers to present the latest research findings and exchange current knowledge fundamental in advising international and national policies in the conservation and sustainable use of coral reefs.

In more than 50 years of history, ICRS 2021 will be the first ICRS to be held in Europe.
The University of Bremen is proud to host this 14th International Coral Reef Symposium and cordially invites the global coral reef community to visit Bremen and participate in ICRS 2021.

The historic, cosmopolitan and well accessible Free Hanseatic City of Bremen, one of the major centres of European marine sciences, will give a warm welcome to all ICRS 2021 participants, ensuring all needs are met, in order to generate a highly productive, eco-friendly and enjoyable global event.

In light of the current global threat and uncertain future of coral reefs, this symposium aims to become the most important in the history of the ICRS.
The overarching topic "Tackling the Challenging Future of Coral Reefs“ outlines its primary goals listed below:

  • Showcase significant work, latest findings and new ideas from all disciplines
  • Provide a platform for the international coral reef community to build bridges between science, conservation, politics, management and public awareness
  • Review existing knowledge for a comprehensive outlook on the future distribution and function of coral reef ecosystems
  • Explore new insights and technologies to develop science-based and sustainable solutions to tackle the global coral reef crisis
  • Promote public and political outreach in order to disseminate the key symposium outcomes at the local and international level
  • Create awareness by involving the public through accompanying lectures and exhibitions


ICRS 2021 Committees:

ICRS 2021 preparations are coordinated by a local organising committee situated at the Department of Marine Ecology (University of Bremen) and at the Bremen Convention Bureau, supported by an international expert organising committee. The administration of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen and the International Coral Reef Society support ICRS 2021 in all aspects.

Local Organising Committee:

Prof. Dr. Christian Wild (University of Bremen) - Conference Chairman
Andrea Hess (Bremen Convention Bureau)
Denis Karcher (University of Bremen)
Dr. Simon Jungblut (University of Bremen)
Dr. Rita Kellner‐Stoll (Kellner & Stoll ‐ Foundation)
Inae Kim-Frommherz (University of Bremen)
Heinz Krimmer (University of Bremen)
Davina Pick (Bremen Convention Bureau)

Organising Committee:

Prof. Dr. Kai Bischof (University of Bremen)
Dr. Arjun Chennu (MPI Bremen)
Dr. Maha Cziesielski (ICRS Reef Students)
Dr. Thomas Felis (MARUM, Bremen)
Dr. Sebastian Ferse (University of Bremen)
Dr. Jasper de Goeij (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Andrea Grottoli (The Ohio State University, USA)
Dr. Andreas Haas (NIOZ Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Tilmann Harder (University of Bremen)
Dr. Georg Heiss (Freie Universität Berlin)
Dr. Carin Jantzen (SECORE International, Bremen)
Dr. Joanie Kleypas (National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA)
Kristina Logemann (University of Bremen)
Prof. Dr. Agostino Merico (Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Research)
Meike Mossig (University of Bremen)
Prof. Dr. Ronald Osinga (University of Wageningen, Netherlands)
Dr. Götz Reinicke (German Oceanographic Museum Foundation)
Dr. Willem Renema (Naturalis, Leiden, Netherlands)
Prof. Dr. Claudio Richter (AWI Bremerhaven)
Helen Schneider-Lemay (The Schneider Group, Inc., SGmeet)
Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp (University of Oldenburg)
Prof. Dr. Christian Voolstra (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
Prof. Dr. Christian Wild (University of Bremen)
Dr. Alexander Wolf (BORDA, Bremen Overseas Research and Development Association)
Prof. Dr. Gert Wörheide (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)